NDBON Seal Logo

NDBON, NDNA and NDCFN:  What's the Difference?

The North Dakota Board of Nursing (NDBON), the North Dakota Nurses Association (NDNA) and North Dakota Center for Nursing (NDCFN) collaborated to provide this comparison of the three nursing entities. Each of these entities has a unique mission and description, which makes them very different from one another. This comparison is updated and published annually and is available on the respective websites.


North Dakota Board of Nursing (NDBON)
919 S 7th Street, Suite 504
Bismarck, ND 58504-5881
Phone: 701-328-9777
Fax:  701-328-9785
Website:  www.ndbon.org

North Dakota Nurses Association (NDNA) 
1515 Burnt Boat Drive Suite C 325
Bismarck, ND 58503
E-mail:  director@ndna.org
Website:  www.ndna.org


North Dakota Center for Nursing (NDCFN)
3523 45th Street South
Fargo, ND 58104
Phone:  701-639-6548
Website:  www.ndcenterfornursing.org


ND Board of Nursing assures North Dakota citizens quality nursing care through the regulation of standards for nursing education, licensure, and practice.
The Mission of NDNA is to advance the nursing profession by promoting professional development of nurses, fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the safety and well-being of nurses in the workplace, and by advocating on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
The Mission of NDCFN is to through collaboration guide the ongoing development of well-prepared and diverse nursing workforce to meet health care needs in North Dakota through research, education, recruitment and retention, advocacy and public policy.


  • Governmental regulatory body established by state law under the North Dakota Century Code 43-12.1 Nurse Practices Act to regulate the practice of nursing and protect the health and safety of the public

  • Regulates the practice of individuals licensed and registered by the Board

  • Establish standards of practice for RNs, LPNs, and APRNs

  • Establish standards and regulate nursing education programs

  • Discipline licensees and registrants in response to violations of the Nurse Practices Act


  • 501(c)6 non-profit association

  • Professional Association for Registered Nurses. 

  • Constituent member of the American Nurses Association (ANA)

  • Influences legislation on health care policies and health issues and the nurse’s role in the health care delivery system

  • Promotes the continuing professional development of Registered Nurses

  • Advances the identity and integrity of the profession to enhance healthcare for all through practice, education, research, and development of public policy

  • Promotes the Scope and Standards of Nursing Practice and the Code of Ethics for nurses


  • 501c3 non-profit organization

  • All nurses and over 40 nursing organizations, education programs, grant programs, state agencies and other stakeholders are members and are invited to volunteer on ND Center for Nursing Leadership Team.

  • Works to unify voice of nursing in North Dakota through connecting nursing organizations interested in policy issues.

  • Develops statewide programming to fulfill mission across multiple areas including nursing education faculty and resources, workplace planning, research and development and practice and policy.

  • Tracks supply, demand and education of nursing workforce.

Board Members:       

Jane Christianson, RN, Bismarck; President

Dr. Kevin Buettner, APRN, Grand Forks; Vice President

Jamie Hammer, RN, Minot, Treasurer

Michael Hammer, RN, Velva

Janelle Holth, RN, Grand Forks

Mary Beth Johnson, RN, Bismarck

Wendi Johnston, LPN, Kathryn

Julie Dragseth, LPN, Watford City

Cheryl Froelich, Public member, Mandan

Board of Directors:


President -  Tessa Johnson, MSN, RN



Board of Directors List

Board of Directors:

13 organizations represented

Board of Directors List


NDBON Staff:

Stacey Pfenning, DNP, APRN, FNP, FAANP Executive Director

Tammy Buchholz, MSN, RN, Associate Director for Education

Melissa Hanson, MSN, RN, Associate Director of Compliance

Maureen Bentz, MSN, RN, CNML Associate Director for Practice

Corrie Lund, BSN, RN, Compliance Investigator

Michael Frovarp, Accounting/Licensure Specialist

Gail Rossman, Technology Specialist II

Kathy Zahn, Administrative Assistant III

Karen Hahn, Administrative Assistant/Licensing Specialist


NDNA Independent Contractor:

Sherri Miller, BSN, RN
Executive Director



NDCFN Staff:

Patricia Moulton Burwell, PhD, Executive Director